• Home
  • Winners of KU Math Prize Competition

Winners of KU Math Prize Competition

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Contact: Gloria Prothe, gprothe@ku.edu, 785-864-3651
Department of Mathematics

LAWRENCE—The 32nd Annual KU Math Prize Competition sponsored by the Department of Mathematics was held April 7. The competition is open to all undergraduates at the University of Kansas. The written exam for each level covers six questions that must be completed in three hours. Cash awards will be presented at the department’s honors banquet on April 22.

The junior-level is open to all undergraduates of non-senior standing and assumes a knowledge of first year calculus. The winners of the junior-level are:

First place ($200): Yujie Deng, a junior in computer science and mathematics.
Second place ($150): Christopher Mayo, a sophomore in mathematics.
Third place ($100): Keon Amini, a sophomore in computer engineering.

The senior-level is open to all undergraduates and covers a range of standard topics of undergraduate math. The winners of the senior-level are:

First place ($250): Xiang Xu, a sophomore in mathematics. Xu also was the top first-year student ($50).
Second place ($150): Robert Winslow, a senior in computer engineering and mathematics.
Third place ($100): Kayla Sale, a senior in biodiversity, ecology and evolutionary biology, and mathematics.

Hailong Dao, assistant professor of mathematics, and Yasuyuki Kachi, associate professor of mathematics, were in charge of the competition.

Events Calendar

Using Math

CTE course transformation grant helps Emily Witt, assistant professor of math, develop active learning with student groups in calculus.  Positive results using modules developed with Justin Lyle and Amanda Wilkens, math graduate students, were attained.  Read more

Math and COVID-19: Sources on how math is being used to track the virus and its spread.  AMS link.

A mathematician-musician's breakthrough melds East, West. Read more.

Researcher's innovative approach to flood mapping support emergency management and water officials. Read more.

Nicole Johnson found a way to express her baton twirling using math. See video.