Mat Johnson awarded Morrison Foundation Teaching Award

Sunday, May 1, 2016

May 01, 2016

Mat Johnson, assistant professor of mathematics, received the 2016 Morrison Foundation Teaching Award. This award was established in 2008 by the Don and Pat Morrison Foundation to recognize outstanding teaching in mathematics. The Department of Mathematics selects a recipient each year in recognition of exemplary teaching and an ongoing active research program.

Johnson completed his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He came to KU in 2011 and will be promoted to associate professor this fall. Before KU he served as the Max Zorn Postdoctoral Fellow and the NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at Indiana University. His research interests include stability theory for nonlinear partial differential equations, and spectral theory for differential operators. His research is supported by the National Science Foundation. He received the department's G. Bailey Price award for excellence in teaching in 2014, the 2015 Outstanding Honors Class award by the KU Honors Program, and the 2015 SIAM Activity Group on Analysis of Partial Differential Equations prize for the most outstanding paper.

Events Calendar

Employee Recognition

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2019 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

5 years
  Xuili Kang 
 Terry Soo

10 years
  Lori Springs

20 years
  Weishi Liu
  Ingrid Peterson

25 years
  Weizhang Huang

35 years
  Daniel Katz
  Bozenna Pasik-Duncan

45 years
  Tyrone Duncan