E-Mail Confidentiality Statement

E-Mail Confidentiality Statement

The Mathematics Department recommends that all users append a confidentiality statement to all E-Mail. Most mail clients can be configured to automatically append this message as part of a signature.

Recommended Confidentiality Statement

The information transmitted by this email communication, including any additional pages or attachments, is intended only for the addressee and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any interception, review, retransmission, disclosure, dissemination, or other use and/or taking of any action upon this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited by law and may subject them to criminal or civil liability. If you received this communication in error, please contact us immediately at (785) 864-3651, and delete the communication from any computer or network system as directed.

Configuring Your Mail Client

Apple Mail

Apple Mail supports multiple signatures. To add signatures choose Preferences... from the Mail menu (or press ⌘, while running Mail) and then choose the Signatures tab.

Thunderbird / Mozilla Mail

To configure a signature for Thunderbird first create a text file containing your signature and save it to your home directory. Then open the Account Settings... window (Tools -> Account Settings... on Mac OS X or Edit -> Account Settings... on Linux) and then check the box next to Attach this signature, click Choose... and select the file containing your signature.

The signaure file needs to be in a plain text format. Use a simple editor (ie: not Word) such as gEdit on Linux or TextEdit on Mac OS X.


To configure a signature using the Mathematics WebMail interface do the following:

  1. Login to WebMail
  2. On the left hand side, choose Options and then Mail
  3. Under General Options choose Personal Information
  4. Fill in the Your signature: box and click Save Options

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years