• Home
  • Atanas Stefanov receives 2015 University Scholarly Achievement Award

Atanas Stefanov receives 2015 University Scholarly Achievement Award

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Atanas Stefanov, professor of mathematics, is a recipient of the 2015 University Scholarly Achievement Award for his impressive work on traveling waves and stability of nonlinear partial differential equations. This work has applications across a diverse array of topics, including nonlinear optics, atomic physics and biophysics. The award recognizes either a truly outstanding single scholarly or research contribution, or a series of closely related contributions.

Each year KU will recognize mid-career star faculty members by a University Scholarly Achievement Award. The monetary award recognizes research impact of major significance by either a single discrete scholarly or research contribution or a series of closely related contributions. The selection panel may recommend up to four awards each year in any of the following areas: arts and humanities, science, technology, and mathematics, clinical science, and social science and professional programs.

Stefanov completed his master's degree from Sofia University, his D.E.A. from the University of Paris IV, and his Ph.D. from the University of Missouri. He came to KU in 2002 and was promoted to full professor in 2012. His research interests are in the broad area of analysis. After receiving his Ph.D. degree in classical harmonic analysis, he has mostly worked on the local and global behavior of the solutions to dispersive partial differential equations, like Schroedinger and wave equations. Recent interests include the existence and stability of solitons arising in the PDE's of mathematical physics. His research is supported by the National Science Foundation.

Events Calendar

Employee Recognition

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2019 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

5 years
  Xuili Kang 
 Terry Soo

10 years
  Lori Springs

20 years
  Weishi Liu
  Ingrid Peterson

25 years
  Weizhang Huang

35 years
  Daniel Katz
  Bozenna Pasik-Duncan

45 years
  Tyrone Duncan